Miles for MJ 5K and 1 Mile Fun Run

Miles4MJ - 5K

Today was the  1st Annual Miles 4 MJ – 5K & 1 Mile Bunny Hop at Oak Ridge Elementery School in Harleysville, PA.  Despite the cold temperatures and torrential rain 135 and a half runners showed up to RUN FOR A REASON.   We ran for our friends and family living with NF.  The rain could not dampen our spirits or extinguish our determination.  We will find a cure!  We will run tirelessly until we do!

Highlights

The Pre-Race Festivities

My reason for running was not ONLY to help my friends the Whalens (who I now consider Family) but also to teach my young son Benjamin Franklin Mitchell the importance of helping others.  When I laced up my beat up old Adidas Sambas I thought of the big picture.  This world is only as good as we make it.  As Mother Teresa said, “We can do no great things, only small things with great love.”  The thing is… when you add up all the little things they do become great things.  Don’t think you can’t make a difference.   Lace up your sneakers and do small things with great love!

The Easter Benny is Ready to RUN

As most of you may have realized I am just a wee bit obsessed with the Philadelphia Union.   My favorite player is Sheanon Williams.   As soon as Sheanon signed with the team I was won over by his hustle on the field.   He gives 100% every match.   He never quits on a ball.   Regardless of if the team are up by 2 goals.. or down by 2 goals.   He plays every minute with the same fire.  As impressed as I’ve always been with Sheanon my favorite player I am even more impressed with Sheanon the man.   He shows the same determination off the field when it comes to helping his friends and family.  He never quits. 

A Quick Word of Thanks From Sheanon Williams

Last but most DEFINITELY not least I would like to congratulate my beautiful Wife Rachel.   Today my Wife finished her very first 5K.   She had never run a day in her life, but when she found out there were people who needed her help she laced up her sneakers.  Not only was she inspired herself she inspired ME and my SON.  Benjamin and I may have come in DEAD last, but we FINISHED.   When we showed up to the finish line wet, cold, and defeated she raced out to welcome us with open arms.   Team Mitchell Finished Our First 5K!  We ran for a reason! 

Shout Out to Earl & Megan for running with Ben & I and helping keep the baby dry!

Shout Out to Nick C of Section133 for running like a CHAMP!

What is Neurofibromatosis?

If you would like to learn more about NF please visit CTF.org or NFendurance.org.  If you would like to learn more about The Whalens of Miles 4 MJ you can join their Facebook Group : Miles For MJ or  follow them on Twitter @MilesForMJ. 

About Section133

A Group for Supporters of the Philadelphia Union in PPL Park section 133. Our Purpose is to Defend Section 133 from the AWAY Supporters of ALL other MLS Clubs.
This entry was posted in DOOP, Philadelphia UNION, Section 133, The IllegitimateS and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

