Dean Ball of The Union Army UK Wants You!

Dean Ball - The Union Army UK

Hello.  My Name is Dean Ball and I want YOU to help design a banner for ME!

I live in the UK, but I am a hardcore Philadelphia Union Supporter. This year I finally dove in an became a full fledged Member of the Sons of Ben.  I spend my Saturday Nights/Sunday Mornings staying up or waking up at 1am.. 2am.. 3am just to watch live streams of Union games. I never miss a match, however, on my part I feel I’m not doing enough.

I want to do something else. What that something else is, I didn’t know but I now have an idea.  I want to have a piece of myself at PPL Park every week so I can be part of the atmosphere!

I figured the best way for me to be present at PPL week in and week out is to have a  banner made and have it hung in the River End.  This way when I watch live from 3,000 miles away I can see my tifo and feel like I am there with my SOB Family. 

The thing about Family is they help each other out.  I’m going to need some help with this next quest in my support of the U.

1) Ideas. Designs. Hints. Tips. Anything you can throw at me would be good. I’m thinking the following need to be incorporated; St. Georges Cross (for England to show my love of country), Philadelphia Union Logo (to show my love of the club), and last, but not least a Sons of Ben Logo (to show love for my new family).  I would also like it to have an English flair.   Here in England when creating banners or flags it is customary to have your ZIP Code added to the design… in my case it would be Wigan or WN6.

2) Step 1 should be easy enough.  We get the design and turn it into a physical banner.  Step 2 is where I really need YOU. I would need a custodian of my banner/flag. Someone who’s willing to look after it, cherish it, put it up, take it down etc.  I realize this is a thankless job, but a job that would make my dream a reality. 

If you can help me on this quest (design or caretake of the tifo) then please let me know. You can contact me via the following channels…

On Twitter – @DeanBall
On Facebook – Facebook.com/deanball
On Email – deansjball@googlemail.com

If you DO help me out I will owe you a PINT during my visits to PPL Park this year.  My scheduled games for this season are;

  • May 21st  v Chicago Fire
  • Sept 10th v Portland Timbers
  • Sept 17th v Columbus Crew

DOOP UK

About Section133

A Group for Supporters of the Philadelphia Union in PPL Park section 133. Our Purpose is to Defend Section 133 from the AWAY Supporters of ALL other MLS Clubs.
This entry was posted in Philadelphia UNION, Sons of Ben and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dean Ball of The Union Army UK Wants You!

  1. Josh says:

    Dean, I emailed you a design concept. Hit me back and let me know what you think.

  2. Eryin Wandel says:

    I’ll get to working on it this week. Hopefully I can have something too ya by the weekend before easter!

Leave a Reply

