2011 Meet & Greet at PPL Park

Sebastien Le Toux & JeffreyM Signing Autographs (photo by Chelsea Barrish)

I survived the TRAFFIC JAM from HELL with a little help from Beady Eye and waited in a mile long line in the cold, but I have to admit it was ALL worth it in the end.  The 2011 Philadelphia Union Meet & Greet was amazing.  I am not sure if I was more excited to see the players or fellow supporters, but luckily I got to see both.

Personal Highlights 

1) Meeting Zachary Pfeffer for the first time.  Since Zach signed for the UNION on December 22nd of 2010 I’ve had the pleasure of becoming fast friends with him on Facebook.  Since then I have become an Honorary Pfeffer.  I’ve gotten to hang out with his cool parents Scott & Margie and his even cooler grandparents Carol & Sal at our Season Kickoff Party at Kildares in Manayunk… I’ve even had the pleasure of interviewing he and his twin brother Jared for Section133.com.  It was great to finally meet Our Kid in person.  He is one of the nicest people you will ever meet… though he is a bit shy!

2) Finally getting to meet Sheanon Williams. Well actually I met him at the Sons of Ben “Help Kick Hunger” party last year, but recently Section133 has struck up a special relationship with Sheanon and his Charity MILES4MJ.  We recently threw a fundraiser for the charity (raising almost $900) and have plans to run in the Miles4MJ 5K and 1 Mile Fun Run.  Sheanon is as nice as his throw-ins are long.  His extended family Marty, Kristina, MJ, and girlfriend Hannah Whalen are just as nice and make up TEAM Miles for MJ. 

3) Meeting Sebastien Le Toux AGAIN.  This man hands down one of the best people you will ever meet in your life… go out of your way to meet him.  He also has the GREATEST memory ever.  When I approached Seba the first thing he asked me was, “How iz zee baby?” I was floored.   I haven’t seen Seba since October 10th of 2010 at the Meet & Greet at Best Buy.  7 Months later and he still remembers meeting my boy Benjamin Franklin Mitchell… Possibly because I begged him to kiss my son on the forehead… Ben’s Soccer Baptism.

Notable Mentions:  At the end of the evening fans were being ushered out of PPL Park.  On the way out I noticed Danny Califf who I had managed to miss the rest of the night.  I tried to stop for an autograph, but was told by the staff they weren’t letting anyone else in line.  Danny remembered me from Help Kick Hunger (probably because I gave him a birth announcement of my son) and stopped the line to sign my picture of him slide tackling the crap out of some Chivas USA player.

p.s. We also have Jordan Harvey & Kyle Nakazawa scheduled to Lambeau Leap into Section133 when they score at PPL Park. To all the other players… much love.  Just because I didn’t mention you doesn’t mean I don’t love you.

DOOP DOOP DOOP

The Line

The Introduction by Nick Sak

The Roll Call pt.1

The Roll Call pt.2

 

The Roll Call pt.3

Benjamin Franklin Mitchell v. His Signed UNION Ball

About Section133

A Group for Supporters of the Philadelphia Union in PPL Park section 133. Our Purpose is to Defend Section 133 from the AWAY Supporters of ALL other MLS Clubs.
This entry was posted in DOOP, Philadelphia UNION and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 2011 Meet & Greet at PPL Park

  1. JJ says:

    Congrats on being one of the lucky 200 allowed in the stadium club, as opposed to the unlucky 200 (give or take) to wait in line only to be ushered in and out of the stadium store. 1st autographs from Ruiz and Pfeffer, 2nd from Migs and Califf, unfortunately I missed over 20 others because I couldn’t make it to the stadium any earlier than 6:55 (I was lucky to get there that early). Not to look a gift horse in the mouth – I’m extremely grateful to the Union, especially the players who shared their Tuesday evening with fans. It’s just too bad that a lot of us got there early enough to be too late. Oh well. Is it Saturday yet?

    • JeffreyM says:

      Next year they DEFINITELY need to impliment a TICKET system. Or maybe hold the event OUTSIDE so there is NO LIMIT for occupancy. I barely made it in myself… and I would’ve been just as upset as you if I had just sat in traffic for almost an HOUR and a HALF for NOTHING. Sorry Brother!

  2. bluetooner says:

    Everyone was warned in advance about the possibility of not getting in, so they knew it was going to be an issue. Unfortunately, there isn’t much that can be done about it. Maybe, in future – there can be 3-4 during the year, and you get a ticket before hand to go at a certain time for it. Of course that means that you have to have the players give up more time etc etc. The harsh truth is that there is always going to be people “left out” no matter what they do. As long as i get to go to PPL on Match days, and the players turn up for that – i don’t really care 🙂 Everything else is just Gravy. (of course having already met Salinas, Harvey, Miglioranzi and the fantastic LeToux (who can’t find a Scottish Granny, but has a Polish nose) on the last game of the season last year – that was great in and of itself. I aint greedy 😀

  3. Ed says:

    Funny, how impressed you were with Le Toux’s memory. You’re a pretty recognizable guy, JefferyM.

  4. Theresa says:

    Jeff, It was a lot of fun. Freaking cold though. I hope that next year they maybe hold it in the concourse. There would be a lot more room and everyone could spread out. And go to a ticket system.

    p.s. As someone who sits at the lower end of 133, thank you sooooo much for offering up the Lambeau Leap in 133. (…sarcasm) Don’t get me wrong. If it happens, I will do my best. 🙂

Leave a Reply

